我们的使命

我们的目标是构建下一代隐私基础设施

阅读 Lite Paper

Nym 的使命是让保护隐私成为在线通信的默认选择。只有这样,个人乃至组织在选择共享数据的内容、时间以及对象时的所做的决定才是安全且有意义的。

过去十年,肆无忌惮的数据收割主导着硅谷商业模式,而且迅速成为了通过在线活动创收的常规操作。如今,理解并预测用户行为成了互联网的主要商业模式。这些以数据为依据的模型统称为 [监视资本主义] (https://www.publicaffairsbooks.com/titles/shoshana-zuboff/the-age-of-surveillance-capitalism/9781610395694),它让垄断巨头和政府通过从社会提取数据和价值,把持了前所未有的操纵和控制体系。

我们应当意识到,当前的隐私保护技术是何等匮乏。私人通讯工具的确有可能对消息的内容进行加密,但即便如此,对于将消息传递至通讯应用程序的互联网服务提供商而言,消息的元数据(例如识别通信时间、IP 地址、位置等)是人人可见的。而在这个大数据的世界里,元数据往往比消息内容更有价值。无处不在的复杂分析系统可以通过元数据给人们的社会关系定性,进而预测个人特征和偏好。

保证在线隐私所必需的技术则一直落后于此,直到最近才有所改变。随着运算能力、网络、研究和资金的进步,现在已经能够克服这些限制并部署能够避免可信第三方并且抵抗监视的技术。

隆重推出 Nym 协议;全球隐私公地

Nym 成立于 2018 年,旨在打造全球隐私基础设施,为结束已经成为互联网默认技术与商业模式的监控时代做出贡献。

Nym 是开源、去中心化的免许可隐私系统。它提供全栈隐私,其他应用程序、服务或区块链无需从头开始构建隐私即可通过它在网络级别(混合网络)和应用程序级别(匿名凭据)为用户提供强大的元数据保护。

Nym 架构由三项主要技术进步提供支持:混合网络、私人凭据和激励措施。

Nym 如何让互联网变得私密

Nym 混合网络为防止网络层元数据的泄露和收割提供了强有力的保证。它是一个通用的隐私覆盖网络,具备不可知性,可以接驳几乎其他任何数字应用程序或服务,使个人和数字服务提供商能够保证自己或用户的隐私。

混合网络将互联网流量混入去中心化网络,从而改善现有的隐私系统。首先,所有数据包都由用户在自己的设备上转换为 Sphinx 数据包。Sphinx 格式使所有数据包大小一致。然后,混合网络中的节点将流量“混合”,并且按概率释放数据包以确保时序混淆。如果需要,还可以在每个节点添加覆盖流量并且多次跳转,确保用户不必信任单个节点。

在混合网络通过保护网络层建立强大基础的同时,Nym 凭据则可以在应用程序层实现细粒度的隐私。数字服务提供商和用户可以通过 Nym 凭据在不破坏隐私的情况下安全参与。

Nym 凭据改进了 Coconut 签名方案,让用户能够在证明自己拥有联网和开展活动权限的同时保留隐私。Nym 凭据加密并嵌入(包括私有数据的零知识证明在内的)特定服务所需的数据。这些凭据的验证方式是去中心化的、公开的,不会泄露用户与其想要访问服务之间的任何链接。

Nym 是可持续的,因为它激励去中心化和维护网络服务质量的行为。在比特币的启发下,Nym 建立了突破性的工作量证明系统,节点获得奖励的原因是混合流量,而不是解决任意的 Merkle 难题。Nym 节点运营方获得奖励的依据是混合量证明,确保所有人的隐私。Nym 仅使用能满足需求的电力完成数据包的混合,尽量减少不必要的环保成本。

Nym 运用区块链实现混合网络的去中心化运营,网络不会出现中心故障点:Nym 混合网络是全球化的隐私公地,由世界各地的节点运营。 去中心化网络的主要障碍之一,是如何聚集现实世界的资源来运行节点。Tor 和 I2P 的志愿者模型有效但有局限性。由于寻找值得信赖的可靠志愿者在后勤上十分复杂,想触及全世界是很困难的:志愿者往往集中在富裕的西方国家,大多数 Tor 中继点都在德国和美国等地。 我们相信经济激励可以解决这个问题,让全世界都拥有互联网隐私。

Nym 与 VPN 相比如何?

目前最流行的网络层隐私解决方案是虚拟私人网络(virtual private network),它通过用户的计算机与供应商之间运行的加密通道提供网络层的保护。但是虚拟私人网络通常配置错误,即使配置正确了,也不能提供真正的隐私保护和足够的抗审查能力。 虚拟私人网络的供应商还可以彻底观察用户与公共网络之间的所有流量,并可以很确切的了解到用户在特定时间访问过何种服务。用户不得不相信供应商没有恶意使用这类信息或保留日志。 Nym 的混合网 mixnet 是一种匿名的叠加式网络,即使面对有能力被动监视整个网络的强大系统,也可以为网络层提供强大的匿名性。混合网是去中心化的,不需要相信任何第三方,因此不需要信任一个类似于虚拟私人网络的供应商。更重要的是,Nym 为虚拟私人网络提供了优秀的隐私特性,并且可以通过激励机制来提供高质量的服务和低延迟。

Nym 与 Tor 相比如何?

Tor 是如今最著名的匿名叠加网络。与 VPN 不同,Tor 提供了三次跳转的的「电路」,比单节点 VPN 提供了更好的隐私性,因此 Tor 中的任何单个节点都无法对流量进行去匿名化处理。Tor 的洋葱路由对每个节点之间的流量进行加密,因此只有最后一个跃点,即 Tor 的「退出节点」才能解密该数据包。

但是,Tor 的匿名性可以被能够监视整个网络的「入口」和「出口」节点的实体攻击,因为洋葱路由加密流量时,Tor 不会添加时序混淆,也不会使用诱饵流量来混淆可以用来取消用户匿名的流量模式。尽管在 Tor 发明之初就认为这类攻击是不现实的,但在强大的政府机构和私营企业时代,此类攻击才是真正的威胁。而且 Tor 的系统设计基于路由的中心化的目录权限。

虽然 Tor 可能是用于访问整个互联网的通用 Web 浏览的最佳现有解决方案,但不可否认的是,对于诸如加密货币交易和安全信息传输之类的信息传输系统而言,mixnet 比 Tor 更胜一筹,并且我们相信设计合理的激励措施可以还可以将 Nym 用作通用的去中心化 VPN。Nym 的 mixnet 可以让数据包之间无法彼此区分,增加覆盖流量以及提供时序混淆功能来提供更好的隐私性。与以前的 mixnet 设计和 Tor 都不一样,Nym 的 mixnet 使用区块链技术分散其运营,并使用激励措施来扩展规模并提供抗审查性。

Nym 与 I2P 相比如何?

I2P(Invisible Internet Project)将分布式目录哈希表替换了 Tor 的目录权限以进行路由。如何设计安全且私有的分布式哈希表仍然是一个开放的研究问题,并且 I2P 会遭受许多隔离、误导用户或对用户去匿名化的攻击。与 Tor 一样,I2P 也基于「通过隐匿实现安全」的概念,即假定没有对手可以监视整个网络。通过隐匿实现安全可能在 21 世纪初是一种最前沿的方式,但现在这种方法已展现出它的年龄。

Nym 的 mixnet 设计可确保网络匿名性,即使面对强大的去匿名化攻击,也能抵抗监视。与 I2P 不同的是,Nym 添加了诱骗流量和时序混淆功能。Nym 使用区块链技术和经济激励措施来提高其网络的去中心化,而不是使用中心化的目录授权或分布式哈希表。Nym 的 mixnet 可以将元数据匿名化,甚至针对可以监视网络链接并观察所有客户端和服务器传入和传出流量的政府机构或私营企业。

Nym 与 Facebook Connect 相比如何?

Nym 凭据系统实现了 Facebook Connect 等系统功能的去中心化,同时增加了隐私。个人数据已经成为一种有害资产,即使对于将整个业务以之为基础的公司而言,也是如此,这在 2018 年 Facebook 的 OAuth 身份系统遭到黑客入侵以及随后发布的 5000 万用户数据中得到了证明。

与 Facebook Connect 和类似的基于 OAuth 的服务(例如,「Sign in with Google」,传统的用户名和密码,甚至公共/专用密钥对)不同,Nym 凭据使用户只有在愿意披露信息给第三方之后,身份​​验证和授权数据才会被共享。没有中心化的第三方管理凭据,用户完全控制自己的数据,仅将其公开给想要公开的人。用户可以将数据存储在任意位置(包括在自己的设备上),与 W3C 的 DID 等替代方法不同,用户无需在区块链上存储任何数据,从而提供了更好的隐私性。

Nym 可扩展吗?

俗话说「大隐隐于市」,系统要确保网络层隐私,就需要扩展到数百万级别的用户数。但现有能够扩展到数百万用户规模的匿名通讯设计仅能抵御较低级别的攻击,要么就会产生较高的延迟,而现有能够实现较强匿名性的系统则仅能进行纵向扩展。 Nym 的 mixnet 设计将强大的安全性与横向可扩展性相结合,即使在拥有数百万用户的情况下也可以有效运行。Nym 网络的速度随着流量与用户的增多而增加,因为随着匿名集的增长,所需的覆盖流量和时序混淆会减少。 像 Tor 和 I2P 这样的网络饱受缺少经济激励机制所困扰,从而导致性能不佳、难以扩展。Tor 依赖于众筹以及政府拨款提供资金支持,并不足以负担其网络中继的运行与维护成本。运行 Tor 的中继也缺少激励机制,更不用说运行较高风险的入口或出口节点了,因此,Tor 难以增加节点进行扩容,以应对增加的流量。而表明 Tor 缺少激励模型的一点就在于其中继地理位置的一致性。 相反,Nym 使用经济激励措施来确保系统始终可以扩展以满足需求的增长。

加入我们

显而易见,互联网隐私从未如此弱小,但它的重要性并没有降低-变革的时机已经成熟。我们经验丰富,敬业奉献的团队很高兴能迈出第一步。

TwitterTelegram 上关注我们以获取定期更新。

我们期待您在GitHub 上的代码贡献和评论。

阅读 Lite Paper

Our Mission

We’re here to build the next generation of privacy infrastructure

Read the Lite Paper

Nym’s mission is to establish privacy as a default for online communications. Only then can people and organizations make meaningful and secure decisions about what, when and with whom they want to share data.

Reckless data harvesting has dominated Silicon Valley business models over the past decade and has rapidly become the norm for monetizing online activity. Understanding and predicting user behaviour is now the primary business model of the Internet. These data-driven models, collectively known as surveillance capitalism, have produced giant tech monopolies and governments that oversee an unprecedented system of manipulation and control, extracting data and value from society.

It is important to realize just how lacking current technology is with regards to maintaining privacy. Even though a private messenger might encrypt a message’s contents, the metadata (for example identifying the timing of the communications, IP addresses, locations, and lots more) is visible to everyone from the Internet Service Provider (ISP) that delivers the message to the messaging application itself. And in this world of big data, metadata is in many ways more valuable than the content of messages. It can be used by sophisticated and ubiquitous analytic systems to determine the nature of your social relationships and thus predict your personal characteristics and preferences.

The necessary technology to guarantee online privacy has remained underdeveloped - until recently. With progress in computing capacity, networking, research and funding, it is now possible to overcome these limits and deploy technology that avoids trusted third parties and is resistant to surveillance.

Introducing the Nym Protocol; A Global Privacy Commons

Nym was founded in 2018 to build a global privacy infrastructure and contribute to ending the era of surveillance as the default technical and business model of the internet.

Nym is an open-source, decentralized and permissionless privacy system. It provides full-stack privacy, allowing other applications, services or blockchains to provide their users with strong metadata protection, at both the network level (mixnet), and the application level (anonymous credentials) without the need to build privacy from scratch.

The Nym architecture is powered by three main technological advancements: a mixnet, private credentials and incentives.

How Nym can make the internet private

The Nym mixnet provides strong guarantees against the leakage and harvesting of metadata at the network layer. It is a general purpose privacy overlay network that is agnostic and can interface with almost any other digital application or service, enabling individuals as well as digital service providers to be able to guarantee their privacy or that of their users.

The mixnet improves on existing privacy systems by mixing internet traffic in a decentralized network. First, all packets are transformed by the user into Sphinx packets on their device. The Sphinx packet format renders all data packets a uniform size. Then, nodes in the mix network “mix” the traffic, releasing packets probabilistically in order to ensure timing obfuscation. If needed, at each node cover traffic is added, and multiple hops ensure users do not have to trust a single node.

While the mixnet builds a strong foundation by protecting the network-layer, Nym credentials enable fine-grained privacy at the application layer. Nym credentials allow digital service providers and users to engage securely without the need to compromise on privacy.

Nym credentials advances on the Coconut signature scheme, enabling people to prove their right to access and do things online while retaining privacy. Nym credentials encrypt and embed the data needed for a given service, including zero-knowledge proofs of private data. These credentials are validated in a decentralized and public manner, without revealing any link between the user and the service they want to access.

Nym is sustainable because it uses incentives to decentralize and maintain the quality of service of the network. Inspired by Bitcoin, Nym’s breakthrough proof-of-work system rewards nodes for mixing traffic rather than solving arbitrary Merkle puzzles. Nym node operators are rewarded for proof of mixing, ensuring privacy for all.Nym only uses enough electricity as needed to accomplish the work of mixing packets to meet demand, and so should minimize unnecessary environmental costs.

Nym employs a blockchain to decentralize the operations of the mixnet so that the network has no centralized points of failure: the Nym mixnet is run by nodes across the world as a global privacy commons. A major obstacle for any decentralized network is assembling real-world resources to run nodes. Tor and I2P’s volunteer model works but has limitations. With the logistical complexity of finding trusted and reliable volunteers, global reach is difficult: volunteers tend to be centralized in wealthy Western countries, with the majority of Tor relays in places like Germany and the US. We believe economic incentives can fix this problem so that the entire world can have privacy on the Internet.

How does Nym compare to VPNs?

The most popular network-level privacy solution currently is the VPN (virtual private network), which provides network-level protection via an encrypted tunnel between a user’s computer and one run by a VPN provider. VPNs are often misconfigured, however, and even when configured correctly, don’t offer real privacy or adequate resistance to censorship.

VPN providers can also fully observe all network traffic between users and the public internet, knowing exactly what services its users are accessing at a given time. The user must trust that the VPN provider is not using their information in a malicious manner or keeping logs.

The Nym mixnet is an anonymous overlay network that provides strong network-level anonymity, even in the face of powerful systems capable of passively monitoring the entire network. The mixnet is decentralized, with no trusted third parties, and so does not require a trusted provider like a VPN. More importantly, Nym provides superior privacy to VPNs and can support high-quality of service and low latency through incentives.

How does Nym compare to Tor?

Tor is the best-known anonymous overlay network today. Unlike VPNs, Tor provides a ‘circuit’ of three hops that provides better privacy than single-node VPNs, so any single node in Tor can’t deanonymize traffic. Tor’s onion-routing encrypts traffic between each hop so that only the final hop, the Tor ‘exit node’, can decrypt the package.

However, Tor’s anonymity properties can be defeated by an entity that is capable of monitoring the entire network’s ‘entry’ and ‘exit’ nodes, because while onion-routing encrypts traffic, Tor does not add timing obfuscation or use decoy traffic to obfuscate the traffic patterns which can be used to deanonymize users. Although these kinds of attacks were thought to be unrealistic when Tor was invented, in the era of powerful government agencies and private companies, these kinds of attacks are a real threat. Tor’s design is also based on a centralized directory authority for routing.

While Tor may be the best existing solution for general-purpose web-browsing that accesses the entire internet, it is inarguable that mixnets are better than Tor for message-passing systems such as cryptocurrency transactions and secure messaging, and we believe well designed incentives can also enable the use of Nym as a general purpose decentralized VPN. The Nym mixnet provides superior privacy by making packets indistinguishable from each other, adding cover traffic, and providing timing obfuscation. Unlike both previous mixnet designs and Tor, the Nym mixnet decentralizes its shared operations using blockchain technology and uses incentives to both scale and provide censorship-resistance.

How does Nym compare to I2P?

I2P (‘Invisible Internet Project’) replaces Tor’s directory authority with a distributed hash table for routing. How to design a secure and private distributed hash table is still an open research question, and I2P is open to a number of attacks that isolate, misdirect, or deanonymize users. Like Tor, I2P is based on ‘security by obscurity’, where it is assumed that no adversary can watch the entire network. While security by obscurity may have been cutting-edge at the turn of the millennium, such an approach is rapidly showing its age.

Nym’s cutting-edge mixnet design guarantees network anonymity and resistance to surveillance even in the face of powerful deanonymizing attacks. Unlike I2P, Nym adds decoy traffic and timing obfuscation. Rather than a centralized directory authority or distributed hash table, Nym uses blockchain technology and economic incentives to decentralize its network.The Nym mixnet can anonymize metadata even against government agencies or private companies who can monitor network links and observe the incoming and outgoing traffic of all clients and servers.

How does Nym compare to Facebook Connect?

The Nym credential system decentralizes the functions of systems like Facebook Connect while adding privacy. Personal data has become a toxic asset, even to companies who base their entire business around it, as evidenced by the hack of Facebook’s OAuth identity system in 2018 and the subsequent release of the data of 50 million users.

Unlike Facebook Connect and similar OAuth-based services like Sign in with Google, traditional usernames and passwords, or even public/private key pairs, Nym credentials allow users to authenticate and authorize data sharing without unwillingly revealing any information to a third party. There is no central third party in charge of the credentials, and users remain totally in control of their own data, disclosing it only to those who they want to. A user can store their data wherever they want (including on their own devices), and unlike alternatives like W3C’s DIDs, a user does not store anything on the blockchain, offering better privacy.

Does Nym scale?

As privacy loves company, systems wanting to ensure network-level privacy should scale to millions, if not billions, of users – but existing anonymous communication designs that scale to millions of users are secure only against weak adversaries or otherwise require high latency, while existing systems offering strong anonymity scale only vertically.

Nym’s mixnet design combines strong security properties with horizontal scalability, enabling it to operate effectively even with millions of users. The Nym network increases in speed as more traffic and users are added, as less cover traffic and timing obfuscation are required as the anonymity set grows.

Networks like Tor and I2P suffer for lack of an economic incentive system, leading to poor performance and difficulty scaling. Tor is dependent on crowdfunding and government grants that don’t cover the costs of running and maintaining its own network relays. There are no incentives to run a Tor relay, much less a higher-risk entry or exit node, so Tor has trouble adding the nodes necessary to scale with increased traffic. One sign of Tor’s lack of an incentive model is the geographic uniformity of its relay locations.

In contrast, Nym uses economic incentives to ensure the system always scales to meet any increase in demand.

Join us

It’s clear that internet privacy has never been weaker, but it’s not down for the count — and the ground is ripe for change. Our experienced, committed team is excited to be taking the first steps.

Follow us on Twitter and Telegram for regular updates.

We look forward to your code contributions and comments on GitHub.

Read the Lite Paper